Public Interest or Vested Interest


The Honourable Nick Greiner received his secondary education at St. Ignatius College, Riverview, from 1958-1963. He graduated with an Honours Degree in Economics at Sydney University, receiving several awards including the Federated Ironworkers' Prize for Industrial Relations and the Australian Society of Accountants' Prize for Commercial Law. He later attended Harvard University where he gained a High Distinction in a Master of Business Administration Degree.

He was elected to State Parliament as the Member for Ku-ring-gai at a by-election held on 13 September, 1980 and was appointed as Opposition spokesman on Urban Affairs in June, 1981. On 19 March, 1988 the Liberal and National Parties scored a landslide victory at the State Election, and on 2nd March, 1988, Mr Greiner became Premier of New South Wales, the youngest Premier in the State's history; He holds the portfolios of Premier, Treasurer, Ethnic Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs.

Don Swan was educated at Goulburn, NSW. He attended the Royal Military College, Duntroon, graduating in 1954, and the University of NSW, graduating with a BA in Commerce and Economics. Prior to becoming Managing Director of UPL Group Ltd, in January 1975, he held senior executive positions with Esso Australia and Brambles. In May 1988 he joined Humes Ltd as Chief Executive Officer, which is part of Smorgon Consolidated Industries, and Smorgon ARC, its principle operating unit where Mr Swan is Executive Officer.

David Russell QC became a solicitor (1974) and barrister (1977) of the Supreme Court of Queensland after completing his LL.M at the University of Queensland. He was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1986. Since 1984 he has been a central councillor and member of the State Management Committee of the National Party of Australia in Queensland. He has published extensively since 1979.

Graeme Haycroft A.I.C.P., J.P. was a teacher and advertising executive, before spending the last 18 years in the insurance/superannuation/financial services field. A long-time member of the National Party Industry, Commercial & Economics Committee and has recently been appointed secretary. This committee was active in promoting the concept of Enterprise Bargaining. After legislation was approved, he formed a company, Voluntary Employment Agreements Queensland Pty Ltd, to market enterprise agreements on a commercial basis.

Keith J Stenhouse Dip M & EE, C.Eng., F.l.E. Aust., F.I.E.E. London is principal of Keith Stenhouse and Associates, Business Consultancy. He is a qualified professional engineer, holds Accounting and Auditing Honours Award for Queensland from Australian Society of Accountants, Post Graduate School of Business Studies, University of Western Kentucky, School of Advanced Management at Melbourne University.

Charles Copeman was educated at the Church of England Grammar School, Brisbane and University of Queensland. As a Queensland Rhodes Scholar he was at Balliol College Oxford 1953-56. He has had a distinguished career in the mining industry with CRA and CGF, and has been Chief Executive of Peko Wallsend from 1962 until he retired in 1988. The most publicised of his responsibilities was the Robe River dispute in 1986. In 1988 he was President of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, Vice-President of the Australian Mining Industry Council and Director of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy Education Endowment Fund. He is Chairman of Mosaic Oil N.L.

Colin Howard has been Hearn Professor of Law in the University of Melbourne. He has published a number of standard legal texts as well as books on the Constitution and on Company Law for the general reader. He has combined his academic career with wide-ranging commentary on public affairs. In the Whitlam years he served for a period on the personal staff of the late Lionel Murphy, at that time Minister for Customs and Attorney-General. He is a practising barrister at the commercial bar in Melbourne.

The Honourable Joe Thompson, A.M., was educated at Christian Brothers College at Manly and subsequently at Harvard University. He has had a distinguished career in the trade union and labor movement with the Vehicle Builders' Union and as a Legislative Councillor in NSW from 1974. He was President of the Labor Council of NSW from 1984 to 1986.

Peter Murray was manager of the Mount Thorley Open Cut Mine until 1985 when he retired, shortly after the dispute involving the 'Thorley 25'. He is a consultant in Newcastle and a Director of the Australian National Railways.

The Honourable John Howard, LL.B.; M.H.R. (Lib) for Bennelong, New South Wales since 1974; Leader of the Opposition 1985-89. He was educated at Canterbury B.H. School; Sydney University. He was Deputy Leader of the Opposition 1983-85. Shadow Treasurer, 1983-85; Treasurer 1977-83; Minister for Special Trade Negotiations July-Nov. 1977, Business and Consumer.Affairs 1975-77; Vice-President NSW Division Liberal Party 1972-74; Member of State Executive, 1963-74; Solicitor Supreme Court NSW 1962. He is presently Shadow Minister for Industrial Relations, Employment and Training and Shadow Minister assisting the Leader on the Public Service.

Penelope Brook educated at Auckland Grammar School; B A. University of Auckland and Master of Arts Degree with First Class Honours in Economics, Phd. in Economics, and at Nuffield College, University of Oxford Doctor of Philosophy in Economics 1987 with her Thesis `A Study of the Creation of Firms as Vehicles for Product Innovation'. A Rhodes Scholar in 1984, she has had a distinguished career in New Zealand and in London. She has published extensively since 1988.

Ian Wearing is a senior consultant with ACIL Australia, one of Australia's foremost economic policy and agricultural consultants. Since joining ACIL in 1986 he has conducted a large number of consulting assignments on agricultural policy, including major submissions to the Royal Commission into Grain Storage, Handling and Transport, and to the Industries Assistance Commission inquiry into the wheat industry. He was for seven years Executive Director of the Australian Wheatgrowers' Federation (now the Grains Council of Australia) and prior to this he worked in the Commonwealth Treasury and as Economist for the Australian Woolgrowers' and Grazier's Council.

Des Moore was educated at Geelong Grammar, Trinity College, University of Melbourne, and the London School of Economics. He joined the Commonwealth Treasury in 1959 where he had a distinguished career culminating in his appointment as Deputy Secretary responsible for General Financial Economic Policy. He resigned from the Treasury in 1987 to take up an appointment as Senior Fellow at the Institute of Public Affairs, Melbourne.

Ray Evans was educated at the Melbourne High School and the University of Melbourne where he graduated in Electrical and Mechanical Engineering. Sometime President of the Melbourne University ALP Club and delegate from the Federated Fodder and Fuel Trades Union to Victorian ALP State Conferences, he resigned from the ALP to act as campaign manager for Captain S J Benson who retained the federal seat of Batman as an Independent in 1966. Prior to his appointment as Executive Officer at Western Mining Corporation he was Deputy Dean of Engineering at Deakin University. He brought together the group which founded the H R Nicholls Society in 1985 and is currently President of the Society.